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Kansas Estate Tax

For Deaths Occurring
On or After May 22, 2003

The State of Kansas imposes an estate tax
on the estates of persons who died on or after
May 22, 2003.

The estate tax is a tax on the value of the
decedent’s estate, and is equal to the federal
credit for state death taxes computed on the
basis of 1997 federal law.

Please contact the Department of Revenue for
more information about these taxes.

K-706 (Rev. 10/04)

Estate Tax
Booklet

For questions about the Kansas Estate Tax,
contact:

Kansas Department of Revenue
Customer Relations — Estate Tax
915 SW Harrison St.
Topeka, KS 66625-2222

Phone: (785) 368-8222
Fax: (785) 296-4993
Hearing Impaired TTY: (785) 296-6461

To obtain forms, publications and other
information, please visit our web site:

www.ksrevenue.org



TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPLICATION OF THIS BOOKLET ....evvevvnrnnens 2
PRIOR LAWS ....cuieiiiereeereceiesesensnsnsnsnrasases 2
KANSAS ESTATE TAX covceiiceiirecereeeeee, 2,3
Generally
Recent Changes

Proration of Kansas Estate Tax

FiLinc REQUIREMENTS

Filing Thresholds

Non-Taxable Estates

Who Must File the Return

Which Formto File

Federal Form 706 (Rev. 4/97) Required
Supporting Materials Required

When to File

Extensions of Time to File

PAYMENT oF TAX

Where to Pay

Who Must Pay
When to Pay
Penalty and Interest
Refunds
Enforcement

GENERAL INFORMATION

Closing Letter
IRS Adjustments
Additional Forms

Form K-706
LiNE INsTRuUCTIONS FOR Form K-706......... 8

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE

If there is a conflict between the law and the information found in this publication, the law remains the final
authority. Under no circumstances should the contents of this publication be used to set or sustain a technical
legal position. Alibrary of current policy information is also available on our Web site: www.ksrevenue.org

APPLICATION OF THis BOOKLET

The forms and instructions in this booklet apply to the estates
of decedents dying on or after May 22, 2003. For
information about estates of decedent’s dying prior to May
22,2003, see the Prior Laws section, below.

Prior Laws

Estates of persons who died on or after June 6, 2002 were
subject to a succession tax before that tax was retroactively
repealed effective May 22, 2003. Because the repeal of
the tax was retroactive, no estate is required to file a return
for this tax or to pay the succession tax.

Ifthe decedent died on or after June 6, 2002 and prior to
May 22, 2003 and the value of the gross estate is in excess
of $700,000 the estate is subject to estate tax. Estates of
decedents dying during this period should file form K-707.

Ifthe decedent died on or after January 1, 2002 and prior
to June 6, 2002, and the value of the gross estate is in
excess of $700,000 the estate is subject to estate tax.
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Estates of decedents dying during this period should file
form K-706 (Rev. 7/00).

If the decedent died on or after July 1, 1998 and prior to
January 1, 2002 and the estate is filing a federal Form 706
with the Internal Revenue Service the estate is subject to
the Kansas Estate Tax. Estates of decedents dying during
this period should file Form K-706 (Rev. 7/00).

Estates of persons who died before July 1, 1998 are subject
to an inheritance tax. Estates that are subject to tax are still
required to file a return, and the statute of limitations does
not begin to run until a return has been filed. Estates of
decedents dying prior to July 1, 1998 should file an
inheritance tax return on Form IH-80, IH-90 or IH-100.

Please contact the Department of Revenue for more
information about these taxes, forms and instructions.

KANsAS ESTATE Tax

Generally

The Kansas estate tax is based on federal law. By



statute, Kansas has incorporated by reference federal
law as it existed on December 31, 1997.

Federal law as it existed on December 31, 1997 provides
that when estate taxes are paid to a state, a credit for all or
a portion of that tax is allowed against the federal tax shown
on the United States Estate (and Generation Skipping
Transfer) Tax Return, federal Form 706. The Kansas estate
tax is equal to 100% of the maximum federal credit allowable
for state death taxes paid. In effect, the Kansas estate tax
return picks up the maximum allowable credit amount. This
is why the Kansas estate tax is referred to as a “pick-up
tax”.

Note: The changes in federal estate tax law that
became effective for estates of decedents dying on
or after January 1, 2002 do not affect the Kansas
estate tax.

Recent Changes In Federal Estate Tax Law

A major feature of the federal tax package adopted in June
02001 is the phasing down and eventual elimination of the
federal estate tax. Under this law, the federal estate tax
will be gradually reduced over the next decade until it is
eliminated in calendar year 2010.

The 2001 changes in federal law fall into two primary
categories. First, the accelerated increase in the Internal
Revenue Code §2010 applicable exclusion amount will
have the effect of increasing the federal filing threshold to
$1,000,000 effective January 1,2002. In accordance with
federal law this amount will increase to $1,500,000 in 2004,
$2,000,000 in 2006, and $3,500,000 in 2007.

Second, under the new federal law the federal credit for
state death taxes found in Internal Revenue Code §2011 is
phased out. In accordance with federal law, for deaths
occurring in 2002 the amount of the credit is decreased by
25%, for deaths occurring in 2003 by 50%, and for deaths
occurring in 2004 by 75%. For deaths occurring in 2005
the credit is eliminated and replaced with a deduction.

Recent Changes In Federal Estate Tax Law
Do Not Affect The Kansas Estate Tax

Many believe the Kansas estate tax is in total conformity
with federal law, and that the recent federal law changes
will automatically flow through to Kansas. This is not the
case. By statute, Kansas has incorporated by reference
federal law as it existed on December 31, 1997. Therefore

under current law, the Kansas estate tax will not be affected
by the recent changes to federal law.

The 1997 federal law Kansas has incorporated by reference
does not recognize the accelerated filing thresholds found
in current federal law. Instead, the state filing threshold is
$700,000 for deaths occurring in 2002 and 2003,
$850,000 for deaths occurring in 2004, $950,000 for
deaths occurring in 2005, and $1,000,000 for deaths
occurring in 2006 or thereafter.

Similarly, the 1997 federal law Kansas has incorporated
by reference does not include a provision that provides for
a phase-out of the credit for state death taxes. Instead,
100% of the amount of the credit is to be paid.

Proration of Kansas Estate Tax

Kansas law provides that when the estate of a resident
decedent shall consist of property within and property
without the state, or in the case of the estate of a
nonresident decedent who died holding an interest in
property with a Kansas tax situs, the tax must be
prorated. The Kansas estate tax is the same percentage
of the federal credit for state death taxes that the total
value of the decedent’s Kansas property is of the total
value of their federal gross estate.

For a resident decedent, property taxable by Kansas
includes real property and tangible personal property located
in Kansas and intangible personal property wherever
located.

For a nonresident decedent, property taxable by Kansas
includes real property and tangible personal property located
in Kansas.

FiLING REQUIREMENTS

Filing Thresholds

Estates of decedents dying on or after May 22, 2003
must file an estate tax return if the value of the estate
exceeds the filing threshold found in the 1997 federal
law Kansas has incorporated by reference. Those
thresholds are exceeded if:

The decedent’s death occurred during 2003 and the
value of the gross estate is $700,000 or more;



The decedent’s death occurred in 2004 and the value
of'the gross estate is $850,000 or more;

The decedent’s death occurred in 2005 and the value
of'the gross estate is $950,000 or more; or

The decedent’s death occurred in 2006 or after and
the value of the gross estate is $1,000,000 or more.

Non-Taxable Estates

Ifthe estate of a decedent dying on or after May 22, 2003
does not exceed the filing threshold found in the 1997 federal
law Kansas has incorporated by reference, the estate is
not subject to estate tax. Therefore, the estate does not
need to file an estate tax return.

Who Must File The Return

The personal representative of the estate must file the return.
For purposes of the Kansas estate tax the term “personal
representative” means the executor, administrator or
deemed executor of the decedent. A “deemed executor”
is any person in actual or constructive possession of any
property of the decedent. A deemed executor must act if
no executor or administrator is appointed, qualified and
acting within the United States.

Which Form to File

For the estates of decedents dying on or after May 22,
2003 use Kansas Form K-706 (Rev. 10/04) which is
contained in this booklet. For deaths occurring prior to
May 22, 2003, see the Prior Laws section of this booklet.

Federal Form 706 (Rev. April 1997) Required

All estates of decedents dying on or after May 22,
2003 must complete the April 1997 version of federal
Form 706 and file it with the Kansas Form K-706
(Revised 10/04). The April 1997 version of federal
Form 706 that must be completed and filed with the
estate’s Form K-706 (Revised 10/03) is in addition to

any current federal Form 706 that is filed with the
Internal Revenue Service.

When completing the April 1997 version of the federal Form
706 the estate may make any elections that are available
under federal law as it existed on December 31, 1997.
These elections may be made regardless of whether a
federal Form 706 is actually filed with the Internal Revenue
Service. These elections are also independent of any

election made on a federal Form 706 that is actually filed
with the Internal Revenue Service.

On the April 1997 version of the federal Form 706 the
estate should use the applicable Internal Revenue Code
§2010 exclusion amount allowed for the year of death under
federal law as it existed on December 31, 1997. These
amounts, which are referred to on page 1, line 11, of the
federal return as the “maximum unified credit against estate
tax’”” are shown in the following table:

Unified Credit

Applicable

Unified Exclusion
Year Credit Amount
2002 229,800 700,000
2003 229,800 700,000
2004 287,300 850,000
2005 326,300 950,000
2006 and after 345,800 1,000,000

The amount of the federal credit for state death taxes
determined on the April 1997 version of federal Form 706
should not be reduced by any percentage. Instead, 100%
of the amount of the credit should be used in determining
the amount of Kansas tax due.

Supporting Materials Required

All materials that are required by the 1997 federal law
Kansas has incorporated by reference to be filed in support
of the federal Form 706, must be completed and must
accompany the April 1997 version of federal Form 706
that is filed with the Kansas return. Any other material that
is necessary to explain or support the federal Form 706
must also accompany the April 1997 version of federal Form
706 that is filed with the Kansas return.

If the estate filed a federal Form 706 with the Internal
Revenue Service, a copy of that federal return, together
with a copy of all materials filed in support of the federal
Form 706, must also accompany the Kansas return.

When to File

The Kansas Estate Tax Return Form K-706

(Rev. 10/04) must be filed within nine months of the date
of'the decedent’s death unless an extension of time to file
has been granted.



A return is deemed filed upon delivery to the Kansas
Department of Revenue. When mailed, a return is deemed
filed as of the postmark date.

Extensions of Time to File

An extension of time to file may be granted upon a showing
of good cause. No extension will be for more than 6 months,
except in the event of litigation directly involving the estate.

A request for an extension of time must be made in writing,
and must provide the grounds for the extension. Check
the box for an extension on the return.

Extensions of time to file a federal estate tax return that
have been granted by the Internal Revenue Service will be
accepted for Kansas Estate Tax purposes. Attach a copy
of the federal extension(s) to your Kansas return and check
the box for an extension.

An extension of time to file is not an extension of time to
pay.

PAYMENT OF TaAX

Where to Pay

All payments should be made by check payable to “Kansas
Estate Tax”. Include the name of the estate on the check.

Returns and payments should be mailed to:

Kansas Department of Revenue
Customer Relations — Estate Tax
915 SW Harrison
Topeka, Kansas 66625-2222

Who Must Pay

The personal representative of the estate must pay the tax.
The personal representative is personally liable for the tax
to the extent of property in their actual or constructive
possession, less any amounts they are required to pay to
third parties who have a legally enforceable claim to the
property that has priority over the tax claim.

When to Pay

Tax is due nine months following the decedent’s date of

death. Ifnot paid when due, penalty and interest may be
due.

Penalty and Interest

Ifthe tax is not paid by the due date, penalty is imposed at
the rate of 1% of the unpaid balance of the tax due for each
month or fraction of a month that the return is not filed or
tax paid, up to a maximum of 24%. In addition, interest
will be charged on the unpaid tax from the due date until
the time it is paid. The rate ofinterest is that prescribed by
subsection (a) of K.S.A. 79-2968. For a specific rate,
please contact the Estate Tax Section or see our web site
at: www.ksrevenue.org

Refunds

No refund will be made for an amount of $25 or less.

No refund or credit will be allowed after three (3) years
from the date the return was filed or one (1) year after an
assessment is made, whichever is the later date, unless a
claim is filed by the personal representative before those
periods expire.

Interest will be paid on the amount of the refund at the
statutory rate from the date of payment to the date the refund
is allowed.

Enforcement

Generally, all of the property a decedent owned at the time
of death, regardless of the form of investment, is subject to
a lien for all tax, penalty and interest. Written notice of the
lien may be filed against the property if it appears the estate
is trying to evade the tax.

The lien is automatically released upon the payment of all
tax, penalty and interest. It is also automatically released
when the property is sold to pay charges against the estate
and expenses of administration that have been allowed by
a court. When property is otherwise sold, the lien is
transferred from property sold to the proceeds of the sale.

If property must be sold, transferred or disposed of for the
payment of taxes against the estate the property is divested
of'the lien, but only to the extent the Director of Taxation
has granted a specific release.

If necessary, liability for tax, penalty and interest may be
enforced by issuance of a tax warrant.



GENERAL INFORMATION

Closing Letter

Upon being satisfied that there has been a final determination
of all taxes due and that payment has been received, the
Director of Taxation will issue a closing letter to the personal
representative. A copy of the closing letter will also be
issued to the preparer of the return.

IRS Adjustments

Any adjustment by the Internal Revenue Service must be
reported by the personal representative to the Director of
Taxation within ninety (90) days of the date of such
adjustment. An amended Kansas estate tax return must be
filed to report any changes. Failure to comply will cause
the statute of limitations to be tolled.

Additional Forms

To obtain additional Estate Tax forms or for other state tax
assistance contact the office shown below. Forms can also
be downloaded from the Department of Revenue’s web
page: http://www .ksrevenue.org

Topeka Assistance Center
Docking State Office Building
915 SW Harrison St., 1st Floor
Topeka, KS 66625-1712
Phone: (785) 368-8222
Fax: (785) 296-4993
Hearing Impaired TTY: 1-785-296-6461



K-706 KANsAs ESTATE TAx RETURN

For deaths occurring on or after May 22, 2003

(Rev. 10/04) . . . .
This form must be accompanied by an April 1997 version of Federal Form 706.

First Name Initial Last Name
| Countyand State of Domicile at Date of Death Date of Death Age Social Security Number
(o]
=
(4]
E Personal Representative (Name and Address) Social Security Number Telephone Number
e
e,
£
n Attorney for the Estate (Name and Address) Telephone Number
e
C
(O]
8 Co-Representative (Name and Address) Social Security Number | Telephone Number
O
(O
(]
Preparer of Return - Other than Personal Representative or Attorney (Name and Address) Telephone Number
Check the box if an extension is attached. I:l Amount paid with extension Check the box if this is an amended return.|:|

If the Estate filed a Federal Form 706 with the IRS, please attach a copy.
FEDERAL CREDIT FOR STATE DEATH TAXES

1. Total state death tax credit allowed for federal estate tax purposes(from federal Form 706 (4/97 revision), pg.1 Line 15) : .00

ProraTtioN oF FEDERAL CREDIT

2. Total federal gross estate (From federal Form 706 (4/97 revision), pg.1, line 1) 2. .00
3. Gross value of non-Kansas property (See instructions, pg. 8) 3. .00
4. Gross value of Kansas property (Subtract line 3 from line 2) 4. .00
5. Percentage of estate located in Kansas (Line 4 divided by line 2) 5.
KansAs EsTaTE TAX
) o . 6 .00
6. Tax payable to Kansas (Line 1 multiplied by line 5)
i ) 7 .00
7. Interest (See instructions, pg. 8)
8 .00
8. Penalty (See instructions, pg. 8)
: : 9 .00
9. Total tax, interest and penalty (Add lines 6, 7 and 8)

Make check payable to: Kansas Estate Tax

Under penalty of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements and to the best of
my knowledge and belief it is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer other than personal representative or person in
possession of property is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of Personal Representative Date Signature of Preparer Other than Personal Representative

Signature of Co-Representative Date Signature of Preparer Other than Personal Representative

Mail to: Kansas Department of Revenue, Customer Relations-Estate Tax
915 SW Harrison Street, Topeka, KS 66625-2222



LINE INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM K-706 (Rev. 10/04)

Federal Credit For State Death Taxes

Line 1 — Enter the amount of the credit for state death
taxes reported on the April 1997 version of federal Form
706.

All estates of decedents dying on or after May 22,

2003 must complete the April 1997 version of federal
Form 706 and file it with the Kansas Form K-706

(Revised 10/04). The April 1997 version of federal

Form 706 that must be completed and filed with the
estate’s Form K-706 (Revised 10/04) is in addition to

any current federal Form 706 that is filed with the
Internal Revenue Service.

Proration Of Federal Credit
For State Death Taxes

Kansas law provides that when the estate of a resident
decedent consists of property within and without the state,
or in the case of the estate of a nonresident decedent who
died holding an interest in property with a Kansas tax situs,
the federal credit for state death taxes must be prorated.

Resident Decedent. For a resident decedent,
property taxable by Kansas includes real property
and tangible personal property located in Kansas and
intangible personal property wherever located.

Nonresident decedent. For a nonresident
decedent, property taxable by Kansas includes real
property and tangible personal property located in
Kansas.

Line 2. Enter the gross value of the decedent’s estate as
reported on line 1 of the April 1997 version of federal Form
706.

Line 3. Enter the gross value of the decedent’s non-Kansas
property as reported on the April 1997 version of federal

Form 706. Please identify these assets on the attached

copy of'the federal return by highlighting them in some
manner or by attaching a separate schedule of these assets.

Line 4. Subtract line 3 from line 2.

Line 5. Divide line 4 by line 2. Enter the result as a
percentage. Ifthe decedent was a resident decedent whose
estate consists entirely of Kansas property, the result is 100
percent.

Kansas Estate Tax

Line 6. Multiply line 1 byline 5. This is the Kansas estate
tax.

Line 7. If the tax is not paid by the due date, interest will
be charged on the unpaid tax from the due date until the
time it is paid. The rate of interest is that prescribed by
subsection (a) of K.S.A. 79-2968. For a specific rate,
please contact the Estate Tax Section.

Line 8. If the tax is not paid by the due date, penalty is
imposed at the rate of 1% of the unpaid balance of the tax
due for each month or fraction of a month that the return is
not filed or tax paid, up to a maximum of 24%.

Line 9. Add lines 6, 7 and 8. This s the total amount due
to the State of Kansas. Please make your check or money
order payable to “Kansas Estate Tax”.

For questions about the Kansas Estate Tax, contact:

Kansas Department of Revenue
Customer Relations - Estate Tax
915 SW Harrison St.
Topeka, KS 66625-2222

Phone: (785) 368-8222
Fax: (785) 296-4993
Hearing Impaired TTY: (785) 296-6461
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For questions about the Kansas Estate Tax or Inheritance Tax contact:

Kansas Department of Revenue
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Docking State Office Building
915 SW Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66625-2222

Phone: (785) 368-8222
Fax: (785) 296-4993
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