Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session
Return to KSA Listing
AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES
Same; underpayment of fees, notice, penalty; unpaid fees
and penalties constitute lien on property of owner; notice, filing,
enforcement; hearing; overpayment of fees, refund.
8-1,104. Same; underpayment of fees, notice, penalty; unpaid fees and penalties constitute lien on property of owner; notice, filing, enforcement; hearing; overpayment of fees, refund. (a) Whenever the director shall determine that the amount of fleet registration fees paid by the owner of any fleet vehicle is less than that which the owner is required to pay under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,101 to 8-1,123, inclusive, and amendments thereto, the director shall mail to the owner a notice of additional fees and any penalty due and owing by the owner. Within 30 days after the mailing of such notice, the owner may request a hearing of the director relating to the fleet registration fees and penalty by filing a written request with the director. Based on the evidence presented at such hearing, the director shall make a final determination within a reasonable time and shall notify the owner of such decision, accompanied by a notice and demand for payment. If such additional fees and any penalty which are due and owing by the owner are not paid within 20 days after mailing to the owner the notice and demand for payment, the division shall withdraw the right for the owner to operate the vehicles of the owner's fleet upon the highways of this state, and deny the owner future registration of additional or replacement vehicles as part of the owner's fleet pending payment of such additional fees and any penalty. All such unpaid fleet registration fees and penalties shall constitute a first and prior lien in favor of the state upon all the property of the owner and shall attach at the time such additional fees and any penalty accrue and shall be paramount to all prior liens or encumbrances of any character and to the rights of any holder of the legal titles in or to any owner's fleet vehicles. The division of vehicles may collect the debt by filing a notice of lien in any county of the state in which the fleet owner has any property, and in any county where the vehicles of the fleet of the owner are based, and the lien and debt thereby secured may be enforced and collected by the division in the same manner and to the extent as provided in K.S.A. 8-1,115, and amendments thereto. All such fees and penalties remaining unpaid shall constitute a debt due the state of Kansas, which may be collected from the person owing the same by suit or otherwise by the director of vehicles in the name of the state.
(b) Whenever the director shall determine that an owner has paid a larger fleet registration fee than is required under the provisions of this act, the director shall prepare a voucher showing the net amount of the overpayment refund due and the director of accounts and reports shall draw a warrant upon the state treasurer against the state highway fund for the amount certified by the director. All such warrants shall be delivered to the director who shall mail the same to the owner entitled thereto.
History: L. 1978, ch. 30, § 10;L. 1990, ch. 40, § 1; July 1.
Return to KSA Listing