Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session
Return to KSA Listing
AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES
Auction; 72-hour transport permits; conditions; fees.
8-143l. Auction; 72-hour transport permits; conditions; fees. (a) Any auctioneer conducting auctions under subparagraphs (D) or (E) of paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of K.S.A. 8-2401, and amendments thereto, may obtain from the division, or an agent designated by the director of vehicles, a 72-hour transport permit authorizing the purchaser of a vehicle at an auction conducted by such auctioneer, to operate such vehicle for a period of 72 hours. In addition to the 72-hour transport permit, the purchaser shall have the bill of sale. The fee for each 72-hour transport permit shall be $3.
(b) An auctioneer under subsection (a) who is a Kansas resident, whose primary place of business is in Kansas and only for the purpose of conducting auctions in Kansas, may purchase such 72-hour transport permits in multiples of three upon making proper application and the payment of required fees. The application shall be to the division on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles. The name of the purchaser of the vehicle at the auction shall be shown on the 72-hour permit issued. An auctioneer purchasing permits shall complete the application and permit as required by the division and mail a copy of such application to the division within 24 hours from the date of issuance of such permit. Only one such permit may be used by the same purchaser on the same vehicle. The division of vehicles may deny any auctioneer the authority to purchase 72-hour transport permits if the auctioneer is found to have issued more than one 72-hour transport permit to the purchaser of a vehicle. This section shall be construed as a part of and supplementary to the motor vehicle registration law of this state. The division shall remit all fees collected under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state highway fund.
History: L. 2002, ch. 34, § 1; July 1.
Return to KSA Listing