Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session
Return to KSA Listing
Liability insurance requirements for vehicles not having
Kansas motor carrier permits.
66-1314. Liability insurance requirements for vehicles not having Kansas motor carrier permits. Every motor vehicle transporting passengers or property for which no permit has been issued as a motor carrier by the state corporation commission, except those used in operations exempt under the provisions of K.S.A. 66-1,109, and amendments thereto, shall be properly covered by liability insurance policy in amounts determined by the state corporation commission. Such amounts shall not be less than $100,000 for personal injury or death to any one person in any one accident, and not less than $300,000 for injury or death to two or more persons in any one accident and $50,000 for loss to property of others in any one accident, which liability insurance shall bind the obligors to pay compensation for injuries to persons and loss of or damage to property resulting from the negligent operation of such carrier. The liability insurance policy required of any resident person or company shall be in some insurance company or association authorized to transact business in this state. Such policy of any nonresident person or company may be afforded by an insurance company not authorized to do business in this state which has given the commissioner of insurance of this state a power of attorney authorizing such commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon such policy. Such company not authorized to do business in this state shall have on file with such commissioner a form as prescribed by subsection (b) of K.S.A. 40-3106, and amendments thereto. The insured under a policy of liability insurance issued by an insurance company not authorized to do business in this state shall execute, before operating any motor vehicle in the state of Kansas, a registration card required by law irrevocably appointing and constituting the secretary of state of this state, process agent, for the insured, upon whom service of summons may be made in any action filed in the proper court in the state of Kansas in the same manner as service is made upon a foreign corporation in the state of Kansas by serving process upon the secretary of state.
No motor vehicle transporting passengers or property shall be allowed to proceed from any motor carrier inspection station into the state of Kansas upon the highways thereof until and unless it has been duly registered and inspected at such station and a clearance certificate issued therefor. No such motor vehicle shall be allowed to proceed into the state of Kansas upon the highways thereof under any circumstances unless in the interests of the safety and convenience of the public the same shall be found by a member of the Kansas highway patrol to be in a safe and roadworthy condition, properly equipped with all lights, brakes and other appliances required by any statutes of this state, and such condition as to be safe for operation upon the public highways of this state, properly loaded, not overloaded and of the size, dimensions and other specifications required by the statutes of this state.
If the person in charge of such station shall find that the registration card required by law has been properly made out and delivered, that the motor carrier and motor vehicle is in full compliance with the statutes of Kansas, such inspector shall issue to the driver of such vehicle a clearance certificate which shall show the station at which it was registered and inspected, the date, destination, license number, motor carrier permit number if any, and such other information as the superintendent of the Kansas highway patrol may require.
History: L. 1955, ch. 297, § 5; L. 1959, ch. 258, § 14; L. 1975,ch. 345, § 2; L. 1982, ch. 276, § 2;L. 1988, ch. 266, § 7; July 1.
Return to KSA Listing