Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2015 Legislative Session

Statute Number:41-321
Tax Type:Alcoholic Beverage Control
Brief Description:Refusal, suspension, involuntary cancellation or revocation of
license; appeal to secretary.


41-321.Refusal, suspension, involuntary cancellation or revocation of license; appeal to secretary.(a) Whenever the director denies an application for any license or suspends, involuntarily cancels or revokes any license, the director shall prepare an order so providing which shall be signed by the director, or a person designated by the director, and the seal of the director shall be affixed thereto. The order shall state the reason or reasons for the denial, suspension, involuntary cancellation or revocation. The order shall be served in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A.77-531, and amendments thereto.
(b) Any applicant or licensee aggrieved by any order of the director may appeal from such order to the secretary by filing a notice of appeal with the secretary. Such notice of appeal must either be mailed to the secretary by certified mail or filed with the secretary within 15 days after service of the order appealed from or, if such appeal is taken because the director has failed to enter the order on an application for a license, within 15 days after the date an application for a license is considered to have been denied as provided in K.S.A.41-319, and amendments thereto. The notice of appeal shall be on a form which shall be prescribed and furnished by the secretary. Whenever any such notice of appeal is filed, the secretary shall notify, in writing, the director of such appeal. Review of a director's order by the secretary shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.
History:L. 1949, ch. 242, 37; L. 1985, ch. 170, 6; L. 1986, ch. 318, 46; L. 1987, ch. 182, 29; L. 1988, ch. 356, 134; L. 1989, ch. 146, 1; L. 2015, ch. 82, 14; July 1.

Date Composed: 12/03/2015 Date Modified: 12/04/2015