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Sales & Use
 
Tax Refund
 

KDOR (Kansas Department of Revenue) provides 
refunds for individuals or businesses that paid sales or 
use tax directly to KDOR in error. This publication 
provides answers to some common questions about 
receiving a refund. It also contains the applicable forms, 
along with the line-by-line instructions needed to 
complete them. 

If you would like information about how Kansas sales 
and use tax applies to your business operations, obtain a 
copy of publication KS-1510, Kansas Sales and 
Compensating Use Tax. 



TABLE OF CONTENTS
 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) ............................. 2
 

Instructions for Completing the Sales and Use
     Tax Application, ST-21 ............................................... 4 

Penalties .......................................................................... 4
 

Required Documentation
 

Amended Returns ....................................................... 5
 

Bad Debt ..................................................................... 5
 

Exemption Claims Based on Statutes ........................ 5
 

Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment .................. 5
 

Consumed In Production ............................................ 6
 

Ingredient or Component Part .................................... 6
 

Business or Retail Business Project ...........................     7
 

Hospital, School, Political Subdivision Project ........... 7
 

U.S. Government Project ............................................     8
 

Utility Exemption .........................................................     8
 

Project Exemption Certificate (PEC) Entity ................ 8
 

Motor Vehicles, Boat, Mobile Home, Aircraft ..............     9
 

Sales and Use Tax Refund Application, ST-21
      (PARTS A through D) ............................................  10, 11 

Assignment of Right to Refund (PART E) ................. 12
 

Claimant/Consumer Affidavit (PART F) ..................... 13
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS)
 
Who can apply for
this refund? 

Any individual or business that paid sales or use tax directly to the Kansas Department of 
Revenue (KDOR) that was not owed and was paid in error, may apply to KDOR for a 
refund. If the tax was paid to a retailer, the refund should be requested from that retailer. 
Certain exceptions allow KDOR to issue a refund directly to an individual or business that 
paid tax to a retailer. See Part E of Form ST-21, Assignment of Right to Refund. An individual 
or business that paid a tax that is administered by the Secretary of Revenue to a county 
treasurer may apply directly to KDOR for a refund of that tax. 

Is there a time limit 
to request a refund? 

Yes. You must file a complete sales and use tax refund claim within three (3) years from 
the date the tax was due from the retailer to KDOR. There is a unique statute of limitations 
for refunds of bad debts. See page 5. 

Is there a dollar limit Yes. Refund applications submitted by a retailer to KDOR must be for taxes that total $5 
on a refund request? or more. Refund applications submitted directly to KDOR by a consumer or purchaser must 

be for taxes that total $50 or more. Refund applications that do not meet these statutory 
threshold amounts will not be reviewed by KDOR. 

What if I’ve never 
filed a tax return in In order to receive a refund, you will need to complete IRS Form W-9, and submit it with 
Kansas? your refund request. The W-9 form is available at: www.irs.gov 

As a retailer may I
take a credit on my
return instead of 

A retailer should not take a deduction or credit on his/her tax return, except for taxes 
refunded on returned goods. Instead, the retailer is required to submit a written refund 
application to KDOR. 

requesting a refund? 

Should I send Yes.  In almost every case, documentation is required. Refer to the specific line instructions 
documentation with for Form ST-21, that begin on page 5. These instructions provide the most common reasons 
the application? for requesting a refund and list the documentation required. If additional information is 

needed beyond what is requested, KDOR will contact you in writing. 
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Will an Assignment No. You must still provide proof of tax paid to your vendor, such as a copy of a cancelled 
of Right to Refund check or an electronic copy of your accounts payable showing tax paid to vendor. 
relieve me of 
providing proof of tax
paid to the retailer? 

How long to process KDOR will begin processing your refund request after the application and all of the 
my refund request? necessary documentation is received. Processing the information may take up to 120 days. 

How can I find out You can check on the status of your refund by calling Audit Services at 785-296-7108 or 
the status of my e-mail at Audit.Funds@kdor.ks.gov. Be prepared to provide the following information: 

your Social Security Number, your federal Employer Identification Number (EIN), the tax refund application? 
type, the exact amount of refund requested, and the date you mailed the request. 

Will I be entitled to 
interest on my
refund? 

Not necessarily. After KDOR receives the application and ALL supporting documentation 
a refund will be issued within 120 days. If the refund process take more than 120 days, 
interest will be computed from the date that KDOR received the final documentation that 
completes the application. Kansas law deems the date of receipt to be the postmark date 
on the package that contains the documentation or the date of mailing as certified by a 
private delivery company. 

What should I do if 
my application is
returned to me as 
incomplete? 

Incomplete applications will not be reviewed by KDOR. KDOR will notify you in writing 
and list the additional documentation you must provide to complete your refund application. 
You will have 60 days from the date of the department’s written notice to submit the requested 
documentation. If your refund application is still incomplete after you submit additional 
documentation or for more than 60 days from the date of KDOR’s notice, KDOR will return 
your incomplete refund application. If this happens, you will be required to file a new refund 
application for the refund in question and the statute of limitations will continue to run until 
it is submitted with complete documentation. 

However, if you believe that your refund application was complete, you may request an 
informal conference to review KDOR’s determination. The letter you receive from KDOR 
will explain how to request an informal conference. 

May my CPA, attorney Yes. However, you must complete and submit a Power of Attorney form (DO-10), that 
or consultant handle gives KDOR the authority to discuss confidential tax matters with your chosen representative. 

If a Power of Attorney form is not included with your refund request, all correspondence will the refund request? 
be sent to you. The Power of Attorney form is available on our web site at: ksrevenue.org 

What if I owe KDOR KDOR reserves the right to apply refunds to any existing debts owed to the department, 
money? regardless of the tax type. 

Where do I get The forms discussed in this publication, along with many other tax forms are available on 
additional copies of our web site at: ksrevenue.org
the forms? 

Where do I send my Mail your completed sales tax refund application (Form ST-21), along with all required 
refund application? documentation to: 

Kansas Department of Revenue 
Audit Services Bureau / Sales Tax Refund 

915 SW Harrison St. 
Topeka, KS 66612-1588 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM ST-21
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Follow these instructions to complete an accurate 
application for a sales or use tax refund. 

Complete the application (Form ST-21) and provide the 
appropriate documentation to the retailer from whom you 
made the purchase. 

The consumer may file the refund request directly with 
KDOR (Kansas Department of Revenue) if the retailer is no 
longer in business, insolvent, moved or is unable to act. 
Complete Part F of Form ST-21 to verify the retailer’s status. 

If you paid the tax directly to KDOR, then you may submit 
the application without going through the retailer. Include 
copies of your returns and supporting documentation when 
mailing Form ST-21. 

PART A – RETAILER (VENDOR) 

Enter all requested information for the retailer in Part A. 
Fields marked with an asterisk require an entry in order to 
process the application. 

Mark the box that applies to your refund source and 
indicate whether the consumer received a refund or credit 
by marking the “yes” or “no” box. 

PART B – CLAIMANT (CONSUMER) 
Enter all requested information for the claimant in Part B. 

Fields marked with an asterisk require an entry in order to 
process the application. 

PART C – REFUND INFORMATION 

Enter the amount of your refund request and mark the 
box that applies to the refund type. You must provide the 
applicable exemption certificates with this application. 

PART D – REFUND REQUEST SCHEDULE 

Complete Part D with the information on an electronic 
schedule, using Excel formatting, if available. Part D must 
include the following: 
Invoice Date.  Enter the month, day, and year in chronological 

order. 

Invoice Number. 

Vendor Name. 

Description of Item(s). Enter a complete description of the 
invoiced item. 

Retail Price. 

Tax Paid. 

Account Code. This is the fixed asset or expense account 
to which the item purchased is being coded in your 
business chart of accounts. 

Reason for Exemption. Enter a complete explanation for 
why the item is exempt. Also reference the statute number 
that supports that reason. Additional information is needed 
if the exemption is based on any of the following reasons: 

•	 Materials consumed in production. Describe 
how the materials are consumed. 

•	 Machinery and equipment. Describe how the 
equipment is used in the manufacturing process 
and list the fixed asset or expense account code 
with account descriptions. 

•	 Ingredient or component part. Describe how the 
item becomes an ingredient or component part. 

PART E – ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND 

The retailer completes Part E if the retailer elects not to 
participate in the sales or use tax refund process. 

PART F – CLAIMANT/CONSUMER AFFIDAVIT 

Complete Part F if the retailer refuses to participate in the 
refund process and does not respond or cannot be located. 
Pursuant to K.A.R. 92-19-49c, you must enclose a copy of 
certified mail receipt(s). The certified mail receipt(s) must 
contain the retailer’s current business address. NOTE: 
Please ensure good faith requirements are met as indicated 
in the Claimant/Consumer Affidavit, Part F. 

PENALTIES
 

Pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3615(j), a person applying to the person, shall be subject to a penalty of 50% of the amount 
department for a refund of any tax imposed under the Kansas of any such tax sought to be refunded. No such penalty 
retailers’ sales tax act that was not previously collected by shall be imposed against such person if the retailer collected 
the retailer, or that the retailer has already refunded to such the tax but did not remit such tax to the department. 
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REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION
 

The following instructions list the most common reasons 
for requesting a sales or use tax refund. Select your reason 
from one of the listed categories. Each category lists the 
information and documentation that is needed to process 
the sales or use tax refund request you are submitting on 
Form ST-21. Provide as much of the documentation as 
possible. The documentation may be submitted via 
electronic media to Audit.Funds@kdor.ks.gov. If additional 
information is needed, KDOR will contact you in writing. 

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

AMENDED RETURNS 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. 

Required Documentation: 

1) Detailed explanation for the error or overpayment. 
2) Copy of original invoices or other relevant documents 

verifying the transaction(s). 
3) Copy of the original return(s). If filing Form ST-36, 

include Part III with backup detail to those returns such 
as an electronic copy of the sales tax payable account 
to verify the tax was paid to Kansas. 

4) Copy of the amended return(s). If filing Form ST-36, 
include Part III. 

5) Explanation of how the refund amount is computed. 
6) Proof the sales tax was refunded to the customer, such 

as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

BAD DEBT 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 

Required Documentation: 

1) Detailed explanation for the error or overpayment. 
2) Explanation of how the refund amount is computed. 
3) Copy of the original return(s) with backup detail to those 

returns such as electronic copy of the sales tax payable 
account to verify the tax was paid to Kansas. If filing 

ST-36, include Part III. 
4) Copy of original source documents such as invoices, 

leases, contracts, etc. 
5) Copy of the customer payment history. 
6) Copy of company policy for writing off bad debts and 

supporting schedules showing how the bad debts are 
written off. 

7) Copy of federal income tax return the bad debts were 
claimed on with the schedule of bad debts written off on 
the federal income tax return. 

When filing a refund request for bad debt, please follow 
the guidelines as written in K.A.R. 92-19-3b. 

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

EXEMPTION CLAIMS BASED ON STATUTES 

I. Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment 
K.S.A. 79-3606(kk) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number. Also list the fixed asset 
or expense account code with account descriptions. 

• If the purchase is for the repair of manufacturing 
equipment explain how the piece of equipment being 
repaired is used in the manufacturing process. 

• 	If the purchase is for manufacturing equipment explain 
how the piece of equipment being purchased is used in 
the manufacturing process. 
A statement of usage that only references Kansas 

statutes, Kansas administrative regulations, or only provide 
a generic description such as “repair parts” shall be deemed 
an insufficient explanation for the basis of a refund. 

Required Documentation: 

1) Copy of manufacturing machinery and equipment 
exemption certificate. 

2) Copy of the invoices. 
3) Proof that tax was submitted to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

4) Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas). 
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5) Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer): 
a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 

vendor; or, 
b) Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid 

to vendor. 
c)	 Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to 

the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from 
the tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date 
to KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, 
if available). 

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

II.	 Consumed in Production - K.S.A. 79-3606(n) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number. Also list the fixed asset 
or expense account code with account descriptions. 

• 	For items being consumed in the production process, 
you must provide a description of the item purchased 
and a factual description of how the item is consumed in 
the production process. 

A statement of usage that only references Kansas statutes, 
Kansas administrative regulations, or only provide a generic 
description such as “supplies consumed in production” shall 
be deemed an insufficient explanation for the basis of a refund. 

Required Documentation: 

1) Copy of consumed in production exemption certificate.
 
2) Copy of the invoices.
 
3) Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail
 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

4) Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
the consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas). 

5) Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer): 
a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 

vendor; or, 

b)	 Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid 
to vendor. 

c)	 Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to 
the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from 
the tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date 
to KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, 
if available). 

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

III. Ingredient or Component Part - K.S.A. 79-3606(m) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number.  Also list the fixed asset 
or expense account code with account descriptions. 

• 	For items becoming an ingredient or component part, 
you must provide a description of the item purchased 
and a factual description of how the item is becoming 
an ingredient or component part. 
A statement of usage that only references Kansas 

statutes, Kansas administrative regulations, or only provide 
a generic description such as “ingredient or component part” 
shall be deemed an insufficient explanation for the basis of 
a refund. 

Required Documentation: 

1)	 Copy of ingredient or component part exemption 
certificate. 

2) Copy of the invoices. 
3) Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

4) Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
the consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas). 

5) Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer): 
a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 

vendor; or 
b) Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid 

to vendor; or 
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c) Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 
the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting vendor; or 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from 
the tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date 
to KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, 
if available). 

6) Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

IV.	 Business or Retail Business Project 
K.S.A. 79-3606(cc) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number. 
All purchases must be for the facility eligible for exemption 

and may not leave this facility. 

Required Documentation: 

1)	 Kansas Department of Labor Employer’s Quarterly 
Wage Report and Contribution Return (front page only) 
for the request period, including the report for the prior 
year’s wages and one year after completion of the 
project (or current employee numbers). 

2)	 A summary similar to Schedule K-34, Part C, Determine 
Qualified Employees. 

3)	 Qualified firms under HPIP must also provide a copy of 
the Kansas Department of Commerce certification letter 
and the project description pre-identifying this 
investment. 

4)	 Description of business activity conducted at the 
business facility and the claimant’s NAICS (North 
American Industry Classification System) code. 

5)	 Project beginning and ending dates. 
6)	 Copy of the invoices, including any sub-contractor 

invoices related to the project. 
7)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

8)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas). 

9)	 Proof the tax was paid: 

b)	 Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid 
to vendor; or 

c)	 Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to 
the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from 
the tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date 
to KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, 
if available). 

10) Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request 
is submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued 

to customer. 
11)  If the company has been certified by the Department of 

Commerce provide the project description and backup 
documentation provided to the Department of 
Commerce. 

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

Project Exemption Certificates issued for employment 
increase will be subject to verification prior to processing 
sales tax refund requests. 

V. Hospital, School, Political Subdivision Project 
K.S.A. 79-3606(d) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number. 

Required Documentation: 

1) Copy of valid project exemption certificate. 
2) Copy of invoices. 
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas). 

5) Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer): 
a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 

vendor; or 
b) Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid 

to vendor; or 
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c)	 Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to 
the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from the 
tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date to 
KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, if 
available). 

6) Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request 
is submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

VI. U.S. Government Project - K.S.A. 79-3606(e) 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must 
be submitted in an electronic format. 

• Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order). 
• Invoice number. 
• Vendor name. 
• A complete description of the invoiced item. 
• Retail price of the invoiced item. 
• Tax paid on the invoiced item. 
• A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and 

the supporting statute number. 

Required Documentation: 

1)	 Copy of valid project exemption certificate. 
2)	 Copy of invoices. 
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax 
was paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor). 

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas). 

5) Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer): 
a) Copy of front and back of the cancelled check to 

vendor; or 
b) Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax 

paid to vendor; or 
c) Self Assessed Tax – Proof that tax was remitted to 

the State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting 
the taxpayer’s return.  Provide accrual detail from the 
tax account period where the tax was originally 
reported up to the refund request submission date to 
KDOR. This should include accrual detail for each 
period within the refund request up to and including 
present accruals (electronic copy must be provided, 
if available). 

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request 
is submitted by vendor) such as one of the following: 
a) Copy of front and back of cancelled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or, 
b) Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

UTILITY EXEMPTION 

Complete Form ST-28B. 

Required Documentation: 

1) 	 Formulas and computations must be completed and a 
copy of your worksheet (utility study) must accompany 
your request. Your worksheet (utility study) must list all 
taxable and non-taxable equipment that pulls energy 
from the meter for which you are seeking the sales tax 
exemption. The study must include for each device it’s 
quantity, energy ratings, hours per day used, days per 
year used, load factors, area of the facility the device is 
located, and taxable or exempt status. Hotels, motels, 
and nursing homes must also include the facilities 
occupancy rate for the prior calendar year or the most 
recent 12 months. 

2) 	 Form ST-33 must be completed by the utility provider. 
3) Nursing homes and other entities that have both 

commercial and residential areas may use the square 
foot method in lieu of a complete study as listed in #1 
above. The square foot method must include resident’s 
room dimensions, total square footage of the facility or 
include a floor plan that includes room dimensions and 
occupancy rate for the prior calendar year or the most 
recent 12 months. The square foot method for 
calculating exemptions may only be utilized for these 
type of residential* entities. For water exemption 
requests the square foot of the landscape surrounding 
the facility must also be included. 
*Residential does not include hotels, motels and other 
similar businesses. These types of businesses must 
furnish a utility study which lists all taxable and non-
taxable equipment. 

4)	 If the meter for the utility exemption you are requesting 
is used for other than your exemption request, you must 
also provide all the other uses for that meter. 

5)	 Include your federal Employer Identification Number 
(EIN) on your request. 

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund. 

PROJECT EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE (PEC) ENTITY 

K.A.R. 92-19-66e(n) provides that a PEC entity that fails 
to secure a timely PEC for a construction project may seek 
a refund of the Kansas sales tax that was paid or remitted by 
the project’s general contractor and subcontractors on their 
materials, supplies, and labor charges for the project in 
question. To apply for a refund, complete and submit Form 
ST-21PEC. This form is available at: ksrevenue.org 
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MOTOR VEHICLE, BOAT, MOBILE HOME, AIRCRAFT – Non-taxable title transfer 

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. 

Required Documentation: 

1)	 Copy of Bill of Sale, invoice or copy of title showing 
vehicle transfer from original owner to you. 

2)	 Copy of the Kansas sales tax receipt given to you by 
the County Treasurer when you registered your vehicle. 

3)	 Detailed explanation of why you are requesting a refund 
(Part D of Form ST-21). 
– Tax was paid to another state. 

a) Proof of tax legally imposed and paid to another 
state.
 

b) Copy of Bill of Sale or invoice.
 
– Vehicle was returned to the seller or repossessed. 

a) Proof of buyback - cancelled check, invoice 
(TR-11) or signed and dated Affidavit. 

b) Repossession Affidavit (TR-84), lien holder 
information. 

– Taxpayer is exempt from paying tax. 
a) Exemption Certificate. 
b) Copy of Kansas sales tax receipt from County 

Treasurer or Form ST-8 given to you by the dealer. 
– Trade-in or dealer discount, in house rebate or 

dealer was not deducted. 
a) Copy of bill of sale or invoice. 
b) Copy of Kansas sales tax receipt from County 

Treasurer. 
c) For isolated sale, completed TR-11 form. 

a) Description of type of exempt title transfer. 
b) Proof of exempt transfer. 

• Affidavit of Fact (TR-12) stating the property was 
received as a gift, etc. 

• Relationship affidavit (TR-215), if applicable. 
• Court documents showing divorce settlement. 
• Proof of 100 percent corporation transfer. 

– Boats, Jet Ski, Aircraft 
a) Proof of Isolated or Occasional Sale if you have 

purchased a previously owned boat, jet ski or 
aircraft (TR-11). 

b) Copy of sales tax receipt from County Treasurer. 
– Lemon Law 

a) Legible copy of the Bill of Sale, purchase order, or 
buyer’s order. 

b) Copy of buyback letter from vehicle manufacturer. 
c) Copy of the check issued to customer for vehicle 

buyback. 
d) Receipt of vehicle mileage when returned to 

dealership, if one was issued. 
e) Copy of usage itemization provided by vehicle 

manufacturer, if one was issued. 
– Dealer to Dealer transaction 

a) Copy of Bill of Sale. 
b) Vehicle must be sold or transferred within 15 days 

of registration. 
The more detailed information that you can provide, the 

more quickly we can process your request for refund. 
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KANSAS
 
SALES AND USE TAX REFUND APPLICATION 

Complete this application using the instructions that begin on page 5. Entries are required on all fields marked with an 
asterisk (*). An incomplete application and missing documentation will delay the processing of your refund. 

PART A – RETAILER (VENDOR) 
*Business Name *Employer ID Number (EIN) 

*Business Address *Kansas Tax Account Number 

*City, State, Zip Code Previous Kansas Tax Account Number 

*Contact Person *Telephone Number 

E-mail Address Fax Number 

Source of refund: � Retailer filing for tax they paid � Retailer filing for tax paid by their customer 
� Consumer filing for tax paid to a vendor � Consumer filing for tax paid directly to the state 

Did the Consumer receive a refund or credit? � No � Yes  If yes, enclose a copy of the credit or cancelled check. 

PART B – CLAIMANT (CONSUMER) 
*Claimant Name *Employer ID Number (EIN) or Social Security Number 

*Claimant Address 

*City, State, Zip Code 

*Contact Person *Daytime Telephone Number 

E-mail Address Fax Number 

PART C – REFUND INFORMATION 

Total Refund Request: $ Refund Request Period: 

Check the refund type and provide applicable exemption certificates: 
� Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment, � Hospital, School, Political Subdivision Project,
 

K.S.A.79-3606(kk) (page 5) K.S.A. 79-3606(d) (page 7)
 
� Consumed in Production, K.S.A.79-3606(n) (page 6) � U.S. Government Project, K.S.A.79-3606(e) (page 8) 
� Ingredient or Component Part, K.S.A.79-3606(m) (page 6) � Motor Vehicle Refund  (page 9) 
� Business or Retail Business Project, � Other (please explain) __________________________ 

K.S.A.79-3606(cc) (page 7) _____________________________________________ 

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE PART D.  RETAILER SHOULD COMPLETE PART E ON PAGE 12.
 
IF THE RETAILER DOES NOT RESPOND, THE CLAIMANT WILL NEED TO COMPLETE PART F (PAGE 13).
 

I declare under penalties of perjury that to the best of my knowledge this is a true, correct, and complete application. 

_______________________________________________ _______________ * �Yes � No  I agree to accept all written notices sent by
Signature of Retailer Date the Department electronically, in lieu of written notice sent

first class mail, and waive any objection to the legal sufficiency
of any such notice because it was sent electronically. 

_______________________________________________ _______________ * �Yes �  No  I agree to accept all written notices sent by
Signature of Claimant Date the Department electronically, in lieu of written notice sent

first class mail, and waive any objection to the legal sufficiency
ST-21 (Rev. 2/15) of any such notice because it was sent electronically. 
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PART D – REFUND REQUEST SCHEDULE (If additional lines are needed, make copies of this schedule. Provide it electronically if available)

   statement of usage along with exemption reason. 

11 

Invoice Date Invoice Number Vendor Name on Invoice Description of Item(s) Retail Price Tax Paid 
Account

Code Reason for Exemption* 

* For requests under K.S.A. 79-3606(kk), K.S.A. 79-3606(m), or K.S.A. 79-3606(n) you must include a factual TOTAL REFUND REQUESTED



   

PART E – ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND
 

ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND 
Pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3650(a)(4) 

Retailer assignment of right to allow purchaser/consumer to file refund request directly with
the Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR) 

(1)	 My name is _______________________________ , and I am a duly authorized representative of ________________ 
_____________________________________ (the “Assignor/Retailer”). By executing this Assignment of Right to a 
Refund (“Assignment”), the Assignor/Retailer assigns all rights and interest to the tax refund herein described that the 
Assignor/Retailer may have to ____________________ (the “Assignee/Consumer”), subject to the limitation noted 
herein. The Assignee’s/Consumer’s federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) is _________________________ . 

(2)	 The tax refund that is subject of this Assignment is described as follows: 

Tax Type: __________________________________  Period(s): _________________________________________ 

Requested Amount: _________________________ 

Transactions:___________________________________________________________ (Attach schedule if necessary) 

Please explain other specific limitations: ______________________________________________________________ 

(3)	 The Assignor/Retailer agrees to provide to the Assignee/Consumer any information or documentation in their possession 
needed for submission to KDOR to support or prove the refund request. Assignor/Retailer waives confidentiality to the 
extent necessary for KDOR to verify the tax sought to be refunded was remitted to KDOR. 

(4)	 By executing this Assignment, the Assignor/Retailer affirms that the Assignor/Retailer remitted the tax sought to be 
refunded and has neither previously claimed a refund nor taken a credit on a return for taxes that are subject of this 
Assignment, and further affirms that the Assignor/Retailer will not claim a refund or a credit for those taxes in the future 
in accordance with K.S.A. 79-3615(j). 

(5)	 The Assignor/Retailer understands the Assignor/Retailer shall be subject to the penalties of K.S.A. 79-3615(h) for any 
false information provided in this statement. [$500 to $10,000 fine and one to six months imprisonment] 

_______________________________________________________ 
Assignor/Retailer Entity Name 

__________________________ 
Tax Account Number 

_______________________________________________________ 
Print or type the name of the person authorizing assignment 

__________________________ 
Relationship to Entity 

_______________________________________________________ 
Signature of person authorizing assignment 

__________________________ 
Date 

_______________________________________________________ 
E-mail address 

__________________________ 
Phone Number 

I certify under penalties of perjury that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information and statements made in this 
Assignment of Right to Refund are true and correct. 

STATE OF KANSAS	 ) 
) SS: 

COUNTY OF __________________________ ) 

This Assignment of Right to Refund was acknowledged before me on _____________________________, 20 _______ by 

__________________________________________ as _________________________________________. 
Name of Assignor/Retailer and Official Capacity (officer, superintendent, business manager, etc.) 

Notary Public: ________________________________ 

My appointment expires: _______________________________ 
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  _________________________________________________________________________  _______________________

PART F – CLAIMANT/CONSUMER AFFIDAVIT
 

AFFIDAVIT
 

This refund application is being submitted directly to the Kansas Department of Revenue without the participation of the 
retailer for the following reason: 

� The retailer is no longer in business. 

� The retailer has moved and the Consumer cannot locate the Retailer. 

� The Consumer attempted in good faith to obtain a refund from the Retailer and provides 
documentation that the Retailer refused or is unable to refund the tax or did not act within 60 days 
of the date of the first refund request. “Good Faith” means that the consumer provided the retailer 
with all of the documentation and information needed to determine the validity of the refund request 
and has otherwise made a reasonable attempt to obtain the refund from the retailer. This includes 
making a reasonable attempt to find the correct address of the retailer. A mere request that a 
retailer agrees to allow the consumer to file a refund claim directly with the department, without 
completing the Assignment of Right to Refund form, shall not constitute a good faith attempt to 
obtain the refund from the retailer. (Retailers may be contacted.) 

A copy of the certified letter and mail receipt to the retailer must be attached to the refund request. 

On _______________________________ the first refund request and required documents were sent to the retailer.
 (Date) 

I certify under the penalties of perjury that to the best of my knowledge, all of the information and statements made 
in this affidavit are true and correct. 

                                                            (Claimant/Consumer’s Signature)                                    	 (Date) 

STATE OF KANSAS	 ) 
) SS: 

COUNTY OF __________________________ ) 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on ______________________________________________, 20 ________ by 

_____________________________________________________________ . 

Notary Public: ________________________________ 

My appointment expires: _______________________________ 
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TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE 
If you have questions about completing the forms contained in this publication, call (785) 296-7108 to speak with a customer representative. 
If you prefer, you may fax information to 785-296-0531 or send an e-mail to: Audit.Funds@kdor.ks.gov 

PUBLICATIONS 
Below is a list of publications available on KDOR’s web site. These publications contain instructions applicable to specific 
business industries and general information for all business owners. 

• Publication KS-1216, Kansas Business Tax Application 
• Publication KS-1500, North American Industry Classification System 
• Publication KS-1510, Kansas Sales and Compensating Use Tax 
• Publication KS-1515, Kansas Tax Calendar of Due Dates 
• Publication KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates 
• Publication KS-1525, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Contractors, Subcontractors and Repairmen 
• Publication KS-1526, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Motor Vehicle Transactions 
• Publication KS-1527, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Kansas Political Subdivisions 
• Publication KS-1530, Kansas Tire Excise Tax 
• Publication KS-1540, Kansas Business Taxes For Hotels, Motels and Restaurants 
• Publication KS-1550, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for the Agricultural Industry 
• Publication KS-1560, Kansas Tax Guide for Schools and Educational Institutions 
• Publication KS-1700, Kansas Sales Tax Jurisdiction Code Booklet 
• KW-100, Kansas Withholding Tax Guide 

STATE SMALL BUSINESS WORKSHOPS 
As part of our commitment to provide tax assistance to the business community, Tax Specialists within KDOR conduct small business 
workshops on Kansas taxes at various locations throughout Kansas. Whether you are a new business owner, an existing business 
owner, or an accountant, these workshops will give you the tools and understanding necessary to make Kansas taxes easier and less 
time consuming for you. Topics covered include filing and reporting requirements and methods, what is taxable, what is exempt and 
how to work with the department in collecting and remitting Kansas taxes. 

For a schedule of our workshops, visit our web site. Pre-registration is required and a fee may be charged by the sponsoring Small 
Business Development Center (SBDC). 

Your suggestions and comments on this publication are important to us. Please address them to: Taxpayer Education, Kansas 
Department of Revenue, 915 SW  Harrison St., Topeka, KS  66612-1588 or call (785) 296-1048. 
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