Kansas Administrative Regulations

Regulation Number:36-2-6
Article Title: Vehicles Carrying Emergency Equipment
Tax Type:Vehicles
Brief Description:
Refusal of approval, hearing notice.


Refusal of approval, hearing notice. (a) Any applicant for the designation of a
vehicle as an emergency vehicle who is unable to obtain the specified approvals may submit a writ-
ten request for a hearing before the secretary on the application. (b) The applicant, and the official refusing to
give the approval specified, shall be given not less than 10 days written notice by the department of
the time and place of the hearing. The notice of hearing shall be sent by mail, addressed to the
applicant at the address shown on the application and to the official at the official's address.
(c) The applicant and the official may each appear at the hearing in person and present their
reasons for and against the granting of the application. Corporations may be represented by an
officer or agent, or by an attorney duly authorized to practice law in Kansas.
(d) The secretary or the secretary's representative shall, at the conclusion of the hearing, either
grant or deny the application. However the secretary, may at the conclusion of the hearing take
the matter under advisement and rule upon the issue within 10 days. (Authorized by K.S.A. 1982
Supp. 68-404; implementing K.S.A. 8-1404, 8- 2010; effective Jan. 1, 1972; amended May 1,
1976; amended May 1, 1981; amended May 1, 1983.)