Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session

Previous
Statute Number:79-3650
Chapter Title:TAXATION
Article Title:KANSAS RETAILERS' SALES TAX
Tax Type:Kansas Retailers' Sales Tax
Brief Description:Direct refunds of sales tax, when; over-collected sales
or use taxes.
Keywords:


Body:

79-3650. Direct refunds of sales tax, when; over-collected sales or use taxes. (a) A refund request for an amount equal to or exceeding $50 may be filed directly by a consumer or purchaser if the consumer or purchaser: (1) Paid the tax directly to the department; (2) provides evidence that the retailer refused or was unavailable to refund the tax; (3) provides evidence that the retailer did not act upon its refund request in a timely manner as provided in subsection (b), or; (4) provides a notarized statement to the department from the retailer that the retailer: (A) Will not claim a refund of the same tax included in the purchaser's or consumer's refund request; (B) agrees to provide to the consumer or purchaser any information or documentation in the retailer's possession needed for submission to the department to support or prove the refund claim; (C) has remitted to the state the tax sought to be refunded; and (D) has not taken or will not take a credit for such tax. A retailer providing false information in any such statement shall be subject to penalties prescribed by K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto.
(b) A cause of action against the seller for the over-collected sales or use taxes does not accrue until a purchaser has provided written notice to a seller and the seller has had 60 days to respond. Such notice to the seller must contain the information necessary to determine the validity of the request. In connection with a purchaser's request from a seller for over-collected sales or use taxes, a seller shall be presumed to have a reasonable business practice, if in the collection of such sales or use taxes, the seller uses either a provider or a system, including a proprietary system, that is certified by the state and has remitted to the state all taxes collected less any deductions, credits or collection allowances. If the director of taxation finds upon proper showing that a consumer or purchaser submitted a refund request to a retailer that was not acted upon by the retailer in a timely manner, the director shall extend the time for filing the request with the department beyond the three year limitation period that is otherwise provided by the time attributed to the delay caused by the retailer.
History: L. 1997, ch. 126, 18;L. 2002, ch. 186, 5;L. 2003, ch. 147, 10;L. 2007, ch. 155, 8; July 1.


Date Composed: 04/04/2011 Date Modified: 04/04/2011

Previous