Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session

Previous
Statute Number:41-2632
Chapter Title:INTOXICATING LIQUORS AND BEVERAGES
Article Title:LICENSURE AND REGULATION OF SALE OF LIQUOR BY THE DRINK
Tax Type:Alcoholic Beverage Control
Brief Description:Influencing purchases by licensees prohibited.
Keywords:


Body:

41-2632. Influencing purchases by licensees prohibited. (a) As used in this section: (1) The word "distributor" means a person, firm, association or corporation which is the holder of an alcoholic liquor distributor's license issued under the Kansas liquor control act; (2) the word "retailer" means a person, copartnership or association which is the holder of a retailer's license issued under the Kansas liquor control act; and (3) the word "manufacturer" shall have the meaning ascribed to it by K.S.A. 41-102 and amendments thereto.
(b) It shall be unlawful for a distributor of alcoholic liquor, or a manufacturer, or any officer, agent or employee thereof, to influence, coerce or induce or attempt to influence, coerce or induce, either directly or indirectly, any holder of a license issued under this act, or any officer, agent or employee of the holder of such a license, to: (1) Purchase any particular brand or kind of alcoholic liquor to be dispensed by the licensee, except that a distributor or manufacturer may provide to a licensee information regarding the availability of brands in the market and things of value as authorized by subsection (d) of K.S.A. 41-703 and amendments thereto; or (2) purchase from a particular retailer alcoholic liquor to be dispensed by the licensee.
(c) Violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than six months, or by both.
History: L. 1965, ch. 316, 32; L. 1987, ch. 182, 82; L. 1991,ch. 141, 4; July 1.


Date Composed: 04/04/2011 Date Modified: 04/04/2011

Previous