Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session

Previous
Statute Number:21-5607
Chapter Title:CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
Article Title:CRIMES AFFECTING FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS AND CHILDREN
Tax Type:All
Brief Description:Furnishing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a minor;
furnishing alcoholic beverage to a minor for illicit purposes.
Keywords:


Body:

21-5607. Furnishing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a minor; furnishing alcoholic beverage to a minor for illicit purposes. (a) Furnishing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a minor is recklessly, directly or indirectly, buying for or distributing any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to any minor.

(b) Furnishing alcoholic beverages to a minor for illicit purposes is, directly or indirectly, buying for or distributing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a child under 18 years of age with the intent to commit against such child, or to encourage or induce such child to commit or participate in, any act defined as a crime in K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 21-5501 through 21-5513, and amendments thereto, or in K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto.

(c) (1) Furnishing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a minor is a class B person misdemeanor, for which the minimum fine is $200.

(2) Furnishing alcoholic beverages to a minor for illicit purposes is a severity level 9, person felony.

(d) As used in this section, terms mean the same as in K.S.A. 41-102, 41-2601 and 41-2701, and amendments thereto.

(e) This section shall not apply to wine intended for use and used by any church or religious organization for sacramental purposes.

(f) It shall be a defense to a prosecution under subsection (a) if:

(1) The defendant is a licensed retailer, club, drinking establishment or caterer or holds a temporary permit, or an employee thereof;

(2) the defendant sold the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to the minor with reasonable cause to believe that the minor was 21 or more years of age or of legal age for the consumption of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; and

(3) to purchase the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, the person exhibited to the defendant a driver's license, Kansas nondriver's identification card or other official or apparently official document, that reasonably appears to contain a photograph of the minor and purporting to establish that such minor was 21 or more years of age or of legal age for the consumption of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage.

(g) Subsection (a) shall not apply to the furnishing of cereal malt beverage by a parent or legal guardian to such parent's child or such guardian's ward when such furnishing is permitted and supervised by the child's or ward's parent or legal guardian.

History: L. 2010, ch. 136, 84; July 1, 2011.



Date Composed: 01/19/2012 Date Modified: 01/19/2012

Previous