Kansas Statutes Annotated
Updated Through the 2013 Legislative Session

Previous
Statute Number:41-2615
Chapter Title:INTOXICATING LIQUORS AND BEVERAGES
Article Title:LICENSURE AND REGULATION OF SALE OF LIQUOR BY THE DRINK
Tax Type:Alcoholic Beverage Control
Brief Description:Possession or consumption by minor prohibited.
Keywords:


Body:

41-2615. Possession or consumption by minor prohibited. (a) No licensee or permit holder, or any owner, officer or employee thereof, shall knowingly or unknowingly permit the possession or consumption of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage by a minor on premises where alcoholic beverages are sold by such licensee or permit holder, except that a licensee's or permit holder's employee who is not less than 18 years of age may serve alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage under the on-premises supervision of the licensee or permit holder, or an employee who is 21 years of age or older.
(b) Violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $250 or imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, or both.
(c) It shall be a defense to a prosecution under this section if: (1) The defendant permitted the minor to possess or consume the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage with reasonable cause to believe that the minor was 21 or more years of age; and (2) to possess or consume the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, the minor exhibited to the defendant a driver's license, Kansas nondriver's identification card or other official or apparently official document that reasonably appears to contain a photograph of the minor and purporting to establish that such minor was 21 or more years of age.
History: L. 1965, ch. 316, 15;L. 1987, ch. 182, 70;L. 1993, ch. 173, 3;L. 1994, ch. 300, 2;L. 2008, ch. 126, 9; July 1.


Date Composed: 04/04/2011 Date Modified: 04/04/2011

Previous