Notice

Notice Number:17-11
Tax Type:Kansas Retailers' Sales Tax
Brief Description:Notice 17-11 Sales Tax Filing and Remittance Frequency Changes
Keywords:Notice 17-11 Sales Tax Filing and Remittance Frequency Changes
Effective Date:07/01/2017
Approval Date:07/01/2017


Body:

Tax Policy Group
915 SW Harrison St
Topeka KS 66612-1588
Phone: 785-296-3081
FAX: 785-296-7928
www.ksrevenue.org
Samuel M. Williams, Secretary
Department of Revenue
Sam Brownback, Governor


Notice 17-11

Sales Tax Filing And Remittance Frequency Thresholds Adjusted
(July 1, 2017)

During the 2017 Legislative Session House Bill 2212 was passed and signed into law. Section 9 of the Bill amends K.S.A. 79-3607 to adjust the frequency for making returns and remitting sales tax that has been collected, based on the amount of tax that has been collected by the retailer.

Under prior law, a retailer who did not collect more than $80 in any calendar year was required to file a return by January 25th of the following year, and to remit the tax at the time of filing the return. This threshold has now been increased to $400.

Under prior law, a retailer who collected more than $80 but less than or equal to $3,200 in any calendar year was required to file returns by the 25th day of the month following the end of each calendar quarter, and to remit the tax at the time of filing the return. This threshold has now been increased to $4,000.

Under prior law, a retailer who collected more than $3,200 but less than or equal to $32,000 in any calendar year was required to file a return for each month, by the 25th day of the following month, and to remit the tax at the time of filing the return. This threshold has now been increased to $40,000.

Under prior law, a retailer who collected more than $32,000 in any calendar year was required to pay the tax due for the first 15 days of the month, along with any amount due for the preceding month, by the 25th day of that month, and to submit a return for the preceding month at that time. The retailer was required to pay the tax due for the remainder of the month when they filed the return for the month in which the tax was collected. This threshold has now been increased to $40,000.

As amended, this subsection now provides:
The amended provisions of the Bill are effective upon publication in the Kansas statutes, but retailers do not need to make any changes immediately. The Department of Revenue routinely conducts an annual review of all sales tax accounts to determine appropriate filing and remitting periods. By the end of October, 2017, the Department will notify all retailers whether their sales tax account has been affected by this legislation. Those retailers that are affected will begin filing sales tax returns and making remittance based on the new thresholds beginning in January of 2018.

Taxpayer Assistance

Additional copies of this notice, forms or publications are available from our web site, www.ksrevenue.org. If you have questions about this Notice, please contact:
Taxpayer Assistance Center
Kansas Department of Revenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1588
Phone: 785-368-8222
Hearing Impaired TTY: 785-296-6461
Fax: 785-291-3614


Show details for Relevant DocumentationRelevant Documentation

SCANNED ATTACHMENTS/DOCUMENTS


Date Composed: 06/29/2017 Date Modified: 06/29/2017