Kansas Administrative Regulations

Regulation Number:14-11-23
Article Title: Farm Wineries
Tax Type:Intoxicating Liquors and Beverages
Brief Description:Special order shipping.


14-11-23 Special order shipping. (a) No holder of a special order shipping license, and no owner, employee, or agent of the licensee, shall sell, give, or deliver wine to a person under 21 years of age.
(b) No licensee shall ship wine that was not manufactured by the licensee to a consumer in Kansas.
(c) For each shipment of wine to be sent directly to a consumer in Kansas, the licensee shall complete an invoice or sales slip containing all of the following information:
(1) The name, address, and license number of the winery;
(2) the name and address of the purchaser;
(3) the date of the purchase;
(4) the quantity and size of each brand of wine purchased;
(5) the subtotal of the cost of the wine and the total price of the shipment, including enforcement tax and shipping charge;
(6) a statement that the purchaser’s age was verified and that the purchaser is at least 21 years of age; and
(7) the type of photo identification examined and the internet-based age and identification service utilized.
(d) For each sale of wine to be shipped directly to a consumer in Kansas, the licensee shall collect gallonage tax as required by K.S.A. 41-501 and amendments thereto.
(e) Each licensee, other than a licensed Kansas farm winery or manufacturer, shall file gallonage tax returns and remit these taxes annually. These returns and remittances shall be submitted on or before the 15th day of January for the preceding calendar year. The gallonage tax returns shall be accompanied by an annual sales report, which shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the director and shall reflect all sales made under the license during that calendar year.
(f) Each licensee shall file enforcement tax returns and shall submit returns showing zero sales if no wine was sold under the license during that tax period.
(g) Each licensee of a Kansas farm winery or farm winery outlet that also holds a special order shipping license shall maintain separate records and file separate returns for its special order shipping license. The licensee of each farm winery or farm winery outlet shall remit these taxes separately from the taxes collected and reported under any other license or permit held by the farm winery or farm winery outlet.
(h) Each licensee shall maintain, on the licensed premises, a copy of the invoice or sales slip for each shipment of wine sent directly to a consumer in Kansas for at least three years from the date of sale. The copies shall be made available for inspection by the director or any agent or employee of the director or secretary upon request. (Authorized by K.S.A. 41-210 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-350; implementing K.S.A. 41-211 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-350; effective Sept. 17, 2010.)