Kansas Administrative Regulations

Regulation Number:36-1-28
Agency Title: KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Article Title: Special Permits, Loads and Vehicles
Tax Type:Vehicles
Brief Description:
Special vehicle combinations.
Keywords:


Body:

36-1-28
Special vehicle combinations.
(a) Notwithstanding any other regulation, special vehicle combination permits may be issued for a
combination of vehicles which exceeds the size and length restriction requirements in K.S.A. 8-
1904 and amendments thereto. (b) A ``special vehicle combination'' for the
purposes of these regulations means a truck-trac- tor semitrailer-trailer-trailer combination of ve-
hicles. A trailer may consist of a converter dolly and a semitrailer. No converter dolly shall be
pulled behind the third trailer. A ``special vehicle combination'' shall hereby be referred to as
``SVC'' and the Kansas department of transportation shall hereby be referred to as ``KDOT.''
(c) Any applicant/owner who applies for an annual SVC permit shall furnish the following before
the permit may be issued: (1) a description of the applicant/owner's train-
ing and supervisory programs for drivers; (2) a description of the applicant/owner's shop
facilities and maintenance programs for equipment; (3) a description of the applicant/owner's com-
pliance with driver qualification standards; (4) a description of the applicant/owner's safety program;
(5) a list of vehicles for which permits are being applied for including model and vehicle identifi-
cation numbers; (6) a list showing the names of drivers to be certified; and (7) the necessary maps
showing all route information to and from the applicant/owner's terminal. (d) Annual certification
shall be required for every SVC. All requests for certification or recertification shall be submitted:
(1) in writing to KDOT, special permit section; (2) at least one month prior to the expiration
of the current permit. (e) Once certification is approved, the applicant/owner may apply for an annual
SVC permit. The application shall include all applicable fees. (f) Upon approval of the application
and payment of associated fees, KDOT will issue annual SVC permits showing the model and
vehicle identification numbers (VIN) of the vehicles being certified and provide the applicant/owner with
driver certification cards both of which shall be carried in the SVC whenever it is operating. Per-
mits and VIN information shall be displayed to any law enforcement officer, Kansas highway pa-
trol officer or employee of KDOT upon request. (g) In addition to the annual SVC permit, the
applicant/owner must obtain all other necessary permits for travel in Kansas. (h) SVC permits
shall be $2000.00 per year for each qualified applicant/owner company plus
$50.00 per year for each special vehicle combination power unit operating under such annual
SVC permit. Lost or destroyed SVC permits may be reissued upon request to KDOT.
(i) Access routes to terminals will be designated on each annual SVC permit. Such terminal
shall be within five miles of the interstate. The applicant/owner shall ensure that the SVC can
safely maneuver through any construction work zones or detours. Any deviation from this route
must be authorized by a representative of the special permit section of KDOT.
(j) SVC travel may be prohibited or restricted to specific routes, hours of operation, specific
days, or seasonal periods, when adverse conditions, traffic, weather or safety considerations
make such travel unsafe or inadvisable. A SVC shall not be dispatched during adverse weather
conditions, such as high winds, snow, ice, sleet, hail, fog, mist, rain, dust, smog, or smoke. If ad-
verse weather or road conditions are encountered during operation, the driver of the SVC shall:
(1) proceed to the next available exit and wait for conditions to improve; or (2) proceed to the
next available exit and detach a trailer. (k) No movement of a SVC is allowed on hol-
idays or holiday weekends. (l) Every applicant/owner approved to operate
an SVC shall provide the KDOT special permit section all information relating to accidents, op-
erational costs, safety inspections, equipment, maintenance, Motor Carrier Safety Assistance
Program (MCSAP) out-of-service reports or other pertinent operational information.
(m) Notwithstanding other state and federal requirements for reporting motor vehicle acci-
dents, a copy of any accident report involving the SVC being operated under an annual SVC permit
shall be delivered or mailed to KDOT, special permit section, within 10 days of the accident. If
the accident involves a death, within 24 hours the carrier must provide the information specified in
section 394.7(b) of the federal motor carrier safety regulations manual, as in effect April 1, 1990 and
adopted herein by reference, to KDOT, special permit section. (Authorized by K.S.A. 68-404; im-
plementing K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 8-1911, as amended by L. 1990, Ch. 50, Sections 2, 4; effec-
tive March 4, 1991.)