Kansas Administrative Regulations
KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE -- DIVISION OF PROPERTY VALUATION
Registered Mass Appraiser
93-6-2 Education requirements.
(a) A candidate for the RMA designation shall complete 180 hours of courses. ``Hour,'' as used in this regulation, shall mean one clock hour of not less than 50 minutes.
(b) Mandatory courses shall consist of the following:
International association of assessing officers (IAAO) course I or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue - 30 hours
IAAO course II or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue - 30 hours
IAAO standards and ethics course or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue - 15 hours
IAAO course 300, 311, or 312 or equivalent course approved by the secretary of revenue - 30 hours
Kansas property tax law course approved by the secretary of revenue - 30 hours
Personal property course approved by the secretary of revenue - 15 hours
Total mandatory course hours - 150 hours
A candidate may substitute successfully completed appraisal courses with an emphasis on mass appraisal approved by the real estate appraisal board appointed by the governor pursuant to K.S.A. 58-4101, and amendments thereto, except that no course substitution shall be permitted for the Kansas property tax law course and personal property course. Course substitution shall be subject to the approval of the secretary of revenue.
(c) The remaining course hours may be selected from courses offered by an appraisal sponsor of the appraisal foundation or the director of property valuation. Appraisal foundation means the appraisal foundation established on November 30, 1987, as a not-for-profit corporation under the laws of Illinois. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 19-430, as amended by L. 1997, Ch. 126, & sect; 33; effective, T-93-8-29-97, Aug. 29,
1997; effective Dec. 5, 1997.)
Return to KSA Listing